Need Advice for Adjusting Deck Slope

Tom Heller

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this site (or any site for that matter). I have a problem with my Toro lawn tractor, and I hope to get some solutions here. The tractor is a Toro 16-38HXL, built in 2002 and bought new by me in 2002.
The problem is my inability to adjust the deck slope to be within the range specified in the owner’s manual. My deck slope was 2.25" lower at the front than at the back, whereas it is supposed to be only 1/8" to 3/8" lower at the front. This extra deck slope causes the mower to cut poorly; the grass is varying heights and I have to go over each area more than once. The blades are new and sharp. There are no broken parts and nothing is bent or loose. I have had this tractor for 18 years, and this only became a problem last year.
I have run the front adjustment bolts all the way in, which raises the front of the deck. This helped some; the slope went from 2.25“ lower at the front to 1.25” lower at the front. But this is still a long way from the small slope called for in my owner’s manual. Also, I have adjusted the rear hangers every which way, all with no improvement.
There are two threaded metal rods which also help support the deck. These rods run from the main tractor frame rearward and connect to the rear of the deck. My owner’s manual specifies a particular length for these rods, but never says what they are for, or when/why/how to adjust them.
Can anyone offer advice on how to solve my problem? Has anyone else run across this problem? What could have suddenly changed last year after I owned the tractor for 18 years? Thank you for your help.

Tom Heller

Forum Newbie
Threads
Rivets,

Thank you for reading my post and sending the link. I am sorry to report that the link did not work for me. There was no error message; it simply sat there with a blank screen.