LB 10323 #20000000+, fuel consumption?

MJW45

Forum Newbie
Threads
Folks - real newbie here who has judiciously followed this site and has had remarkable good fortune in all advice gleamed from ALL here. Following ALL that I've read from the experts visiting, my childhood machine was running as close to perfection last fall, crap plastic carb cleaned several times, new vane spring, gaskets, carb rebuild, larger pilot jet, even a baked coil after poor start during this covid stuff. Started like a charm, NO surging, idling like purring kitten, cut like a knife/sharpened blade through high grass as if butter! Darnn, only made 2-3 passes on my large lawn and out of gas!? Ran the entire afternoon like that 2-3 passes, fill tank. Always starts on first pull, idle remains calm, accepts speed increase and decrease . . . let her cool down, cleaned her off and can find no visible gas leak, no odors of such whatsoever? Even tried closing down the gas shutoff, to no appreciable avail? Despise another carb removal, however resigned to it! So, what's up as they now say???? I'm listening, thanks mw.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Need to figure out if the fuel is going out the cylinder or some other place. Need you to try something and report back. Please replace the plug with new and run unit unit it quits. Pull the plug and see if it is covered in dry carbon or oily carbon. If your fuel/oil ratio is correct neither of these conditions should appear. Second, what type of oil are you using and what ratio? Third, has the amount and color of smoke changed? Report back as then we will have a better picture of what is happening.

MJW45

Forum Newbie
Threads