Export thread

Intek 6.5hp Carburettor Problems

R

rafbloke

Hi, a newbie here hoping there is someone out there who can help with a carb issue I'm having. I have a high-quality, old cylinder lawnmower with an Intek engine, which had been left standing for a long time and the carb was completely corroded inside. I replaced it with an aftermarket part, but every time I turn on the fuel valve, the carb floods and fills the intake and cylinder with fuel. It's a brand new carb, so I'm pretty sure the needle valve is in good condition, but I am planning to strip is down this weekend to check. The question I have is that one site I have seen states that with some of these replacement carbs there can be flooding issues due to some sort of venting of the carb, which I don't understand, and that a new intake may be required. Does anyone know what this venting issue is? I have tried to buy a replacement Briggs & Stratton carb (#591925) but they don't make them anymore and I can't find a supplier with any stock. For info, here is some other info for the engine: Serial #: 123437-0119-E1, Date Code: 000707FD. Very grateful for any advice/hints/tips/tricks - thanks.

I

ILENGINE

The venting issue is due to the change of the carb which has a different location for the bowl vent which required the replacement of the air filter backing plate that corresponded with the new carb vent location.

R

rafbloke

Thanks for the quick reply. I've not heard of this before have you got any other info on why the bowl vent causes the carb to flood? Also, if I need to replace the intake, do you know the part number I need to find?

I

ILENGINE

Thanks for the quick reply. I've not heard of this before have you got any other info on why the bowl vent causes the carb to flood? Also, if I need to replace the intake, do you know the part number I need to find