generac 006720 generator

Mark H_NO

Threads
Got a Generac 0066720. Runs nice and smooth, but the governor is off. It was surging/hunting, and I adjusted the governor per directions I found on youtube. Loosen nut on governor arm, open throttle to full, gov arm fully in that direction, rotate gov shaft cw. It didn't move much, but now as soon as I take the choke off, it hits full throttle. I can throttle back manually and it runs fine, but the gov just goes to the wall. I'm new to adjusting governor, so I'm sure I did something wrong. This is the video I was going from. I tried adjusting the spring on the gov arm, but I loosened it till it's hanging, and still goes to full throttle.

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Lets start over. Loosen the governor arm nut. Move the throttle to full throttle while watching which direction the governor arm moves. And then turn the governor shaft in the same direction as the arm moved. So if the arm moves CW then turn the shaft CW if the shaft went CCW then turn the shaft CCW. And then while holding everything in place tighten the nut. making sure to get it correctly tight so the arm doesn't twist on the shaft.

OK, now you say it was running nice and smooth, but also hunting and surging, Which is it. And how do you know the governor was off. Most generators have one operating speed without a manual throttle control. Do you have a tachometer to properly set the engine speed?

Mark H_NO

Threads