Engine CV740-0023 needs a replacement

Streak

Forum Newbie
Threads
OK---this is my first time in a forum so I will try to be right to the point.
I have a GTH2754 2005 Model Year that has a CV740-0023 Kohler engine that I cannot get to stop using oil and fouling the plug on the right hand side (as you are viewing from the seat).

I want to replace it with a Briggs and Stratton 30 HP. What problems can I expect in the change out?

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Threads
First make sure the crankshaft is the same diameter and length before proceeding. then they other things that could pop up would be differences in exhaust, differences in wiring, may have to add a starter solenoid to the wiring harness, if the solenoid is not separate from the starter on the Kohler that you are replacing.

Streak

Forum Newbie
Threads
First make sure the crankshaft is the same diameter and length before proceeding. then they other things that could pop up would be differences in exhaust, differences in wiring, may have to add a starter solenoid to the wiring harness, if the solenoid is not separate from the starter on the Kohler that you are replacing.

I am looking at a 49M977-1036-G5 Briggs 1-1/8" x 4-5/16" --I am pretty sure it is the right one, but I don't know about the starter solenoid, I suspect I will have to mount one somewhere.

Mad Mackie

Lawn Addict
Threads
Info about the Briggs 49M977-1036G5 engine.
I installed this same engine on my Scag ZTR last March, nice engine. but with a GT, you need to know the following: