Repairs Craftsman starter problems

tankdriver

Threads
Hey, all you guys are great!! Wish we could get together and have coffee sometimes - I think all you folks had good suggestions but it looks like the "valve clearance" may be my problem. Now, if I only KNEW HOW TO FIX IT, that would be great!! Is this procedure outlined in the manual which came with the thing by any chance? I've gotten so LD in my old age, I cannot read those things and come out with any sense at all!
This Ol' Misippy Boy thanks y'all very much.
Sam Sayger
Hernando, MS

A couple of things you might want to check. I work on electric forklifts for a living, and you need to check and see how much of a voltage drop you get on the battery while you are cranking it. It is a 12vt battery, and should not drop below around 10 vts. Also I have changed a ton of relays that close, but will have contacts burned internally and not let full load go through. Get meter, go from battery negative to battery postive, and try to start it. You'll have to use a couple jumper wires, as the seat will need to be down. The go from battery negative to the starter relay contact. The one that has the wire to the starter, and try to start it again. That will check out both items, (starter & relay) for voltage drop. Let us know what reading you are getting.

If both of them check out OK, it is probably the valves. The voltages are just quicker, and easier to check. I live just north of you, and will get with you if need be.

SamSayger

Forum Newbie
Threads
Engine model numbers for Craftsman starter problems. Actually, I have two Craftsman

As I said in post #3 give us the engine model numbers. With them I should be able to get you a service manual. With that and the u-tube videos you should be able to adjust them. Without them I can do nothing but guess.