Briggs & Stratton Quantum - governor spring doesn't move butterfly valve

philduff

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Briggs & Stratton Quantum - governor spring doesn't move butterfly valve
hi all,

Hope this message finds you well.
I have an issue with my lawn mower; it starts, but the engine runs at high revs and moving the throttle doesn't change anything on the reving.
I'm not a mechanic and don't have experience working on engines; but after doing some closer investigation it looks like the butterfly-valve doesn't move at all when moving the throttle-lever. There is more tension on the governor spring, but nothing happens to the valve.
i can move the valve with a screwdriver so it is not blocked/stuck; however it does take a little bit of "effort" to move it. It doesn't take a whole lot of effort to move it; but I feel it is more than the added tension on the spring when changing the throttle-lever position ... (hope this makes sense?). Should the valve move very fluently/easy? Should I spray it with WD40 or something like that? Or Should I clean it with something?

On some engines I can see that the are 2 springs controlling this valve, but it appears that on the Briggs & Stratton Quantum there's only 1. (checked the parts-manual and couldn't find anything in the documentation referring to a 2nd spring)

I've attached 2 pictures, one where the throttle lever is in "stop"-position, and the other one in the "full throttle"-position.

Engine model type: 12H802-1966

Thanks in advance for any help!

Best regards,
Phil

Attachments

• IMG-8462 (new).jpg
    IMG-8462 (new).jpg
    937.8 KB · Views: 12
  • IMG-8461 (new).jpg
    IMG-8461 (new).jpg
    992 KB · Views: 11

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
The spring doing it job of holding throttle vane at max opening while the engine not running.