Repairs 2166 not starting when cold, fuel problem

kfxnow

Forum Newbie
Threads
I've got a new to me 2004 2166 I bought last month. I'm a shadetree mechanic, so when I bought it, it only ran with the choke half way out. Pulled the carb, cleaned it and no more problem. What I do have now (don't think it is related to the clean carb) is that when the tractor sits for a week, which is typical, it will not start. I pulled the fuel at the carb and nothing for about 20 cranks and then the fuel came out. Put the fuel line back on and no problems at all. Shut it down during the lawn mowing and start with no problem. Next week, same issue. So I replaced the fuel pump, thinking that perhaps it had an air leak in it and it couldn't pump up the fuel from the tank or something. No change. Same symptoms. I did not, however, replace the diaphram, only the mechanical/plastic parts.

Any ideas?

TIA

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads
https://www.cubcadetpartsnmore.com/cub-cadet-service-manuals

See if manual can help you out, let us know how it goes. I know the years don't match up but give it a try. Have you replaced fuel filter? I use 93 octane fresh gas & quality brand fuel treatment [per instructions on bottle] in all outdoor power equipment.

Last edited:

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Check to see if the choke is fully closing. Telling us the engine brand and numbers would probably help you out.

kfxnow

Forum Newbie
Threads
Re: 2186 not starting when cold, fuel problem

I was just out in my shed today. Sorry, it's a 2186 with a Kohler Command 20.