19 hp Briggs valve shaking problem???

ted.thurlby@gmail.com

Forum Newbie
Threads
Model 33R877 type 0007-G1 vertical shaft. Wanted to give model and type first just in case others need to know. I am working on a 19 hp Briggs engine single cyl. for a friend. I am a good mechanic but this simple valve problem is kinda throwing me. His engine was making noise and hard to start. I brought it home and opened up the valve cover and the top (which looks like the exhaust) Can someone enlighten me which one is intake and exhaust - top or bottom.) It looked to me that since the exhaust valve is right next to the valve it would be the exhaust.This is closest to the exhaust valve. It was loose enough to cause the engine not turn over. Anyway I ordered a valve guide since the old one was wore inside and the pushrod was bent. I installed the valve guide and a new alum. pushrod. Adjusted the valves like the others say to do. (Even used the other method with one all the way down check the opposite one, then close the other and adjust the other one. Will this method work. Anyway I adjust the valves and when it runs the top valve shakes laterally thereby destroying the valve guide. Why is it doing this. both valves are opening and closing correctly. This engine is only 2 years old. What keep the valve from moving around laterally so much. Am I missing something. If the valve .004 intake and .005 exhaust they should not be doing this. Something is causing the rocker arm to move not just up and down but laterally also. I have tried to explain this the best I can. I know I have to order another valve guide. The pushrods are straight and on the cups inside and out. Confused mower mechanic.... Please reply its driving me crazy. Don't want to repeat fixing and having the same problems again. Ted

Threads
(Even used the other method with one all the way down check the opposite one, then close the other and adjust the other one. Will this method work.