18.5hp Briggs OHV Intek...Cranks after Valves Set when COLD ONLY!

Alphadog

Threads
  • / 18.5hp Briggs OHV Intek...Cranks after Valves Set when COLD ONLY!
Hi Guys,

New guy here. I'm a decent mechanic and a licensed electrician but, I've been fighting this problem on and off for days. I was determined to figure this out without help but I just can't get it. I wish I knew more about small engines. I've looked over this forum and still can't get the answer I'm looking for. Maybe someone can explain a few things to me so here goes.......

I have a 42" Craftsman Model 917.274811 with an 18.5 Intek OHV Briggs Model 310000. If you need more info just ask. From what I have found on that model, I need to set the Intake valve between .003"-.005" and the Exhaust valve between .005"-.007" at TDC plus 1/4" more on the piston. Does this sound correct to anyone?? I've done this procedure in every kind of way imaginable. I've done this at TDC and 1/4" past TDC on the piston. I've gone with the lowest settings and the highest settings. I've set them with one valve open and the other closed and visa versa. I can always get it to run afterwards, like a top, but after 30 seconds or so if I shut it down and try to crank it, well, then it's the same old problem again.....too much compression to turn over.

I've read about the exhaust valve opening slightly at the end of the compression stroke but I've never seen this on mine. I DO see the Intake Valve do a double dipper just before it closes but not the exhaust. Do I have them backwards??? I mean, the exhaust valve (top) is directly in line with the exhaust port, is it not??? It is only opening and closing. The intake valve (bottom) opens and closes and double dips slightly at the end. Just in case for some reason I'm wrong, I set them the opposite to see what would happen. No crankie. Way off.