Walker mowers

Azpeapicker

Forum Newbie
Threads
I worked in a shop in Gilbert , Az. That sold & serviced Walker Mowers . Let me start by saying that its one of the Best Riders the market .
I am not associated with the Walker Company in any way . The Engineers built there machine with the Mechanic on mind , every thing is easy to work on .
The Diesel Model didn`t due well out here in the Az. heat , but the Gas Models worked well .
Another thing when they made a running change , they alway s back then made a retrofit kit that you could purchase to upgrade you r unit .
They were made in Colorado .

John ( Az Peapicker )

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
All of the fine cut rotary mowers have timed blades,
The Husky Rider Pros
Cub had one
You can not get a proper cut without overlapping blades.

It is just a matter of cost.

The best cuts are done with barrel mowers.
Best for the grass & looks so much better which is why golf courses & the better sports fields all use drum mowers.

After that timed overlapping come second , a fair way down

Then swing back blades on a large blade dish

And right down the bottom are bar blades with no overlap. Which is what most are because it is cheap to make.

It is all about the speed of cut, the thickness of the blades & control of the airflow under the deck

(Account Closed)

Threads
I gather the blades are "geared" somehow to keep them in sync?

With one belt turning that "gear/pully"?

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You gather wrong Scott.
No belts on a Walter deck.
Blades run from a bevel gearbox and both gearboxes run either side off another bevel gearbox so timing is set forever.
Husky use a timing belt and tooted pulleys , just the same as a camshaft & timing belt.

All of Walkers Owners, Service & Parts books are on line so instead of imagining, read facts a much better idea in the long run.