Trying to fix a Worx WA0032 24v mower battery

ilyaz

Threads
Curb find. Previous owner said the battery worked for 4 years, then died. After charging it overnight, I see the the volt readings shown in the photos. So about 13v on both sides, but I can't get a reliable reading on the output connectors. The battery test shows it's fully charged.

I am a newbie so might be doing it all wrong, but in any case, how do I figure out what's wrong with the battery and what's the easiest and cheapest way to repair it? A new one costs ~$200 so not an option.

Thank you!b1.jpgb2.jpgb3.jpgb4.jpgb5.jpg

MowerMike

Threads
Last edited:

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
If those are lithium ion batteries, don't try to repair them. Don't even try to mess with them. They like to go nuclear if they short out or are damaged. Think very hot fire that may be hard to put out.

MowerMike

Threads
If those are lithium ion batteries, don't try to repair them. Don't even try to mess with them. They like to go nuclear if they short out or are damaged. Think very hot fire that may be hard to put out.

Those are SLA batteries, not lithium ion. They can leak acid, but not catch fire.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Unless you remove the small black and red wires from the battery and clean all the connections, you are not going to get good readings. Second, I don’t know what that part, labeled 100, is or if it will give you a false reading. It may be a diode, which you can test to see if it is good. I do agree that the batteries may be junk, but at the price of new ones I would want to be sure of my decision before replacing.

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads
13 volts on each battery in series would give you 26 volts output. You are only testing one battery. But you would need to find the ampere hours rating on those batteries and buy a couple new ones, not necessarily the Worx brand. SLA batteries on Ebay are pretty reasonable and I've had good luck with them in various uses.

MowerMike

Threads