Toro Mower with Tecumseh carburetor leaking gas

jimzerg

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello,

I have an old Toro lawnmower with a Tecumseh carburetor. Full disclosure - I am not very experienced with small engine repair. I had issues with it starting a few weeks ago and so I took it apart and cleaned it with carb cleaner and put it back together (video link below). I also fixed the pull cord which had broken. It ran well after that and fired right up. However, two weeks later, I put some gas into an empty tank and gas just starts running out the back of the carb where the filter is located. I have taken a video of my problem here:

I would like to save this mower but I'm wondering what I should do. I read something about a bad float needle but I'm not sure what to repair. Or maybe I should get a whole new carb? Is this the correct part if so? https://www.amazon.com/Tecumseh-640350-Carburetor/dp/B0074BMSGM

Anyway, thanks, would like to keep the mower going longer rather than give up on it. My exact Toro mower and the cleaning steps I followed on the same exact carb are in this video on Youtube by donyboy73:
. It appears I only bought some time but didn't fix my carb completely.

Side notes:
Another issue is that black plastic thing next to the wheel fell off as I banged the mower trying to unstick the carb needle (that didn't help). It appears to have been glued on. How to reattach or replace this part? Also does anyone know where to get filters for this carb?

Thanks again!

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads