TB Horse XP quit within 24 hours

verguito

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a Horse XP purchased brand new from Lowe's 7 years ago. It has been kept inside a shed since it came to the house and we only mow an area of .75 acre from April to October every 3 weeks. It looks brand new and it has been barely used considering how I use it. Last time I mowed was August 28th and as I was finishing I felt it was failing to go uphill a little bit. I started reading online and a drive belt change was suggested. I also saw a tutorial on how to drill the transmission to install a drain plug in order to replace the fluid but I am not a mechanic and the only maintenance I do to it is oil change and filter. I had replaced the blades 2 years ago and I decided to take it to my local ACE Hardware. The serviced it, changed the deck belt, sharpened the blades, fixed a tire and they told me the drive belt was in perfect shape so they did not touch it. They told me that I was going to wait 2 to 3 minutes after starting the mower because the transmission would not engage. I picked it up and brought it home. It took me 5 minutes to take it down from the trailer because it would not move. After it started moving I got to the shed and stopped. The engine runs perfectly fine but when I move the shifter forward and reverse it does nothing. I was told by some people that I am going to have to get a new mower. I appreciate any help and thanks in advance.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Need model number from serial tag. I suspect you have hydrostatic setup; though, CVT system is possible.

With these if hydro even a drive belt that looks good can be worn out. Also v-idler pulley a lot of time are plastic and wear out. When they do even a new belt will slip. and if it is a CVT system there are two drive belts.

Either way a mower that don't want to move for several minutes is a symptom of a serious problem.

Last edited:

verguito

Forum Newbie
Threads