Still learning the jargon

melt.burn.make

Forum Newbie
Threads
As with any new avenue of research, I'm still learning the ins/outs/terminology for mowers but I'm enjoying the process!

My wife and I just moved onto 2 acres of nice flat farmland and aim to make a dent in it. We're looking to buy either a ZTR or other riding mower and would love to also be able to use a tilling attachment if at all possible (who's not gonna plant some veggies on 2 acres?). If anyone has advice on what I should or shouldn't be looking for or can just point me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.

From my research so far, I've walked away with a couple of possibly wrong findings:
  • Avoid Briggs and Stratton engines because they're junk (people seem to like Kohler or Kawasaki)
  • Husqvarna brand does not honor its warranty and people have a lot of trouble seeking repairs
  • Kubota is great but expensive in all cases
  • ZTR's lack the ability to use non-mowing attachments (snowblower, hauling wagon, tilling, etc)
Feel free to tear those to shreds. Thanks all for your help, I look forward to learning more :)

Hammermechanicman

Lawn Addict
Threads
I would buy Briggs Vanguard before anything Kohler. Kawasaki is good
I don't know of any ZTR tbat is designed for ground engaging implents. The homeowner grade machines are not designed to pull anything. Commercial ones can pull some things but not much.
You might look for a good used Deere 425 or 445 tractor. It will cut the grass and plow the garden. If you have the $$ look for something like a Deere X720. The JD stuff has lots of accessories on the used market, power steering, remote hydraulics, shaft driven mower deck. Liquid cooled Kawasaki engine.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads