Scag Tiger Cub Ruins Batteries

Geofft

Forum Newbie
Threads
I've never done a forum before, but I cannot for the life of me figure this out. I have a scag Tiger Cub STC61V-23BV that has the 23hp Briggs vanguard. It started to completely drain a battery as I cut and leave me stranded. First thought, put a new battery. After an hour or 2 of mowing, the battery was dead. Second thought, voltage regulator. Nope, still drained the battery. Checked stator output and it was fine. Then I started getting alot of chatter from the solenoid so I replaced it. Still drained the battery. I finally noticed that the female connector on the wiring harness that goes to the seat switch was missing and all 3 wires were wire nutted together. I'm assuming this is the issue, but I cannot find that female end without buying a whole harness. If anyone else has any other suggestions or input on what might be the issue or where to get a connector I would sure appreciate it.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
The connector can be gotten from Stens. PN 430-057 which replaces the Delta 96525-GY housing. Just note the shorting strip ( if present) need to be removed for use on the Scag harness.

But the way the wires are try together it just overrides the operator present switch and has nothing to do with the system draining.

Since you have the stator output did check the voltage regulator output voltage. If it is fine then it is likely that you have a partially shorted PTO clutch field winding. I have seen these to partially shorted pulling up to 20 amps and still operate but drain the electrical system.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Checked the alternator output how & where and what was it ?
If the recharge current flows through the key switch, that can burn out.
Wire carrying the recharge current back to the battery can also be broken

Geofft

Forum Newbie
Threads
Checked the alternator output how & where and what was it ?