Rebuilding an old Briggs: lots of questions! Father/son project!

BubbyJ

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Rebuilding an old Briggs: lots of questions! Father/son project!
I have a Briggs and Stratton 4hp 187cc engine. It was pulled off of an old wood and leaf chipper. I'm unsure of its age, but I'd venture to guess that it's from between 1970-1980. Could be either side of that by a decade too lol, I honestly don't know. The model number is 112292 0707. I'm not sure if that helps anything, but all I've found is the operating manual online for it. I'm guessing it's pretty old just because it's only 4hp with almost 200cc. That's a pretty low number for an engine that size.

So here's the story...

I've been building automobile engines for the last 25 years, specializing in blueprinted "stock" engines from the 1960s and early 70s. So I don't really need much help in terms of rebuilding this thing. My 11 year old son is following in my footsteps and learning so much so fast that it's scary. He wants his own small block ford engine to build. I dug this old motor up recently for him to strip down and rebuild. He has a gokart frame that he wants to test it out on when we are done. So what I do need help with is this:

-where can I find a parts interchange list?
-suppose I wanted to install a more aggressive camshaft, where would I find the type of camshaft that's made for this engine? I'm assuming not all BS engines use the same cam type. Correct? Is there's a series or an engine design name for this motor that would allow me to identify parts better? For instance, small block Chevy. Pretty much any sbc part will fit any sbc engine (with exceptions). Same goes for 385 series Ford's. Or big block Pontiacs. Or FE engines.

So.. what am I looking for as I order a few parts for this engine, so that I know what I'm getting is correct for the model.