Push Mower Timing

Freddie21

Threads
I am a novice back yard mechanic working on small engines for a while. I have never been able to figure this one out. I understand how timing is related to the magnet and coil. and how if the flywheel moves it could throw it out. What I don't understand is how the blade holder shifting positions affects the timing? Unless it has something to do with the momentum of the blade, but the engine can run without a blade attached. How abouts one of you experts, or not, giving a little 123's on this? Thanks,

Freddie21

Threads
My engine is running fine, this is a general operational question

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Here is my crack at it. the blade gives additional momentum to the lightweight flywheel but doesn't directly effect engine timing. What normally happens is the blade hits a solid object that causes the blade holder to shift, but that sudden stop that shifted the blade holder also causes the flywheel to shift, shearing the flywheel key and effecting timing of fire.

sgkent

Lawn Addict
Threads
The blade holder and the flywheel are each kept in place with a key, usually a woodruff key or a rectangular key. They will shear if enough pressure is put on them, like hitting a rock or root while running. If the blade has moved compared to the flywheel, one of four things has happened - (1) the flywheel key has sheered (2) the blade holder key has sheered (3) both have sheered (4) the crankshaft has been twisted or is broken. You can certainly figure it out from there.

Freddie21

Threads
Ok, I know what happens to the keys, but I don't understand what the blade holder, or blade, position has to do with engine timing. I hear people can't get their engines to start after hitting something and the responses are to check the blade holder key. Why?

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads