PP175 battery dying during use. Have to jump off regularly

pvols1979

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / PP175 battery dying during use. Have to jump off regularly
Hello, everyone. This is my first time to this forum. I own a PP175G42 and I have been having some issues with the charging of the battery during use. I can put a brand new battery in and cut the yard and the first time I stop it, I have to jump it off. I have inspected the wiring and I see one potential issue. I have also replaced the ignition switch and no resolution. The potential issue with the wiring is that I found two wires with a plastic connector on the end that are connected to nothing. The wires are black and blue and I cannot find any metal fins where the connector would connect. I can't find any info on the connections in the docs and I am at a loss. Did it come from the factory this way and I am just chasing my tail, or does it need to connect to something? If that is not the problem, then where do I look. I have tried two new batteries and I still have the same issue. I am not getting a charge to my battery.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Most likely it is one of two optional connections. One is for the fuel solenoid on the carburetor if equiped and the other is for an option hour meter.

If your has the fuel solenoid on the carburetor. While the mower is running disconnect one of battery leads. It probably will die which would indicate that the stator (alternator) is not working.

pvols1979

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a volt meter, but I don't read schematics. I am ashamed. I am an amateur radio operator and I don't know electrical engineering basics. Where should I test?

pvols1979

Forum Newbie
Threads
Most likely it is one of two optional connections. One is for the fuel solenoid on the carburetor if equiped and the other is for an option hour meter.