Possible timing issue or ruined engine??!!??

dscott32

Forum Newbie
Threads
So I have a 7.25 ft-lb Gross Torque* Briggs & Stratton EXi 163cc w/ReadyStart on a toro 22" Personal pace lawnmower, here is the story:

The previous owner went over something ductile and it immediately had a major oil leak. I was then given the mower due to the assumption that it was permanently damaged. After inspecting, I realized that there was a large hole in the oil sump (due to the ductile material that was mowed over). I soon ordered a new oil sump and replaced it. I will admit that I made a potentially big mistake by not draining the oil nor the gasoline out of the mower before replacing the sump (I was not thinking smart and I am new at this stuff). So, after putting everything back together. The thing would not start (like not even sound like it was trying to start!). I let it sit for awhile due to assuming that I probably flooded the cylinders possibly (letting stuff evaporate). After sitting for months, it still didn't start up. I smelled the muffler and it smelled like fuel I took it off and cleaned it out and there was dried up sludge everywhere by the muffler, carburetor and etc. I soon realized that to increase my chances of making it start, the air filter should be replaced, along with the carburetor and spark plug. After replacing these items, it still wouldn't start (again, not even trying to even turn). So then I got to thinking that maybe I messed up the timing when I had replaced the oil sump, so I opened it back up and here I am now..I am trying to be very optimistic with this whole repair and I am hoping the engine did not get ruined when I tipped it on its side with the fluids still in it when I replaced the oil sump. I have learned a lot, however I don't know much about timing, but I was told you should line the "symbols" up on both of the gears. There was only one distinguishing mark on the green spur gear that made me think it was its "symbol" (it was like a cut