No Spark No Compression but Recoil Starter turns Blade 4hp B&S.

cprodave

Threads
  • / No Spark No Compression but Recoil Starter turns Blade 4hp B&S.
On a Murray 22inch Mower 4hp Briggs & Stratton Sprint Model 10J902 Type 0293 Code 05042651 will not start. Using an adjustable gap Spark Tester I see no Spark. Using Compression Tester I see zero compression. When I pull the Recoil Starter Rope the blade DOES rotate correctly (indicating that the Starter is properly engaging/turning the Crankshaft. After I attempted to start I removed the Spark Plug and did not detect any fuel, indicating there is no vacuum drawing fuel into the cylinder. I sprayed Starting Fluid into the cylinder, replaced the Spark Plug and got no "cough" or signs of ignition.

I'm not a pro but not a newbie either working on small engines and outboards but it is puzzling to me that both Spark and Compression have failed at/around the same time. I don't have exact info on how the mower was being used by distant relative at the time that it stopped working. I know how to debug for No Spark (Coil/Flywheel gap check, check Resistances, Flywheel key broken etc) , and how to diagnose No Compression (stuck valve, broken rod, broken ring, etc) , but what would cause them to both fail at the same time?

Before I dive-in on disassembly and diagnosis, does anyone have tips on what else to look for? Thanks in advance for any ideas. Dave

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
You have a 15 year old engine, on a $1.98 mower. I’m will to bet you have a sticking valve and possibly a mouse nest under the shroud. This nest would cause your engine to over heat, which could easily be the cause of your problem. Ask yourself, How much $$$ do I want to spend. If you remove the shroud, you might Get some idea as to what happened.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads