Repairs MTD Belt Failure

Steve Smith

Threads
I have a Cub Cadet Model 2186 built by MTD. I have been experiencing pre-mature belt failure of the PTO belt that drives the mower deck. I have been using genuine MTD belts. I have lost 4 if them already this summer. The off-brand belts seem to last longer, but they still fail after about 6 to 10 hours of mowing. I thought my pulleys might be warn. So I replaced the PTO clutch and pulley and the double pulley on the deck. Checked the alignment. Still having failures. At this point, I am thinking that the MTD belts are defective, but am not sure.

platefire

Threads
Hi Steve

I have no experience with a Cub Cadet. So I'll get that out of the way from git go. You checked the alignment and so it seemed ok. What about the tightness of the belt when engaged. Does it feel super tight when engaged and is there a way to adjust tension---or is it controlled by the spring tension on the idler pulley?

If it's in alignment, the belt tension is not overbearing, then maybe check for burrs or deformities on the pulleys. Something is not right for you to go through that many belts! So you might have to inspect extra hard to find it. Platefire

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
What the damage on the belt looks like can give a clue what the issue is. A picture of the damaged belt can help us narrow down the problem.

Steve Smith

Threads
What the damage on the belt looks like can give a clue what the issue is. A picture of the damaged belt can help us narrow down the problem.

I believe that I have thrown all the damaged belts away. If I can find one I will take a picture. The Kevlar jacket comes off. I assume the adhesive is not able to take the temperature from the friction. The belt is very warm. I am not sure if that is normal. The tension seems high to me. It is a spring loaded tension pulley, but the tension seems a lot.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Sound like you have the belt on the wrong side of one of the belt keepers.