Mower runs at low RPM at full throttle.

ItsMaxton

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hey all, I am somewhat new to the mowing scene and I actually use my mower to tow trash cans to the end of the long driveway more than mowing itself. I recently acquired a John Deere LX 279 mower with a Kawasaki V-Twin 17hp engine for free, quite a win in my books. The previous owner said the battery was dead but it ran great. I got the mower home and spent the rest of the day with a friend to try to get the mower working, we both have little mechanical experience and were not able to get it running after cleaning out the carb and testing the fuel system. (It turned over on starting fluid).

I ordered a cheap carb and cheap fuel pump off Amazon, I knew the fuel pump was pumping a good amount but I replaced it anyways, $12 part. ** I used the old gasket that connects the carb to the engine, and did a shotty job cleaning the old gasket that connects the carb to the intake manifold. Are these gaskets absolutely necessary to make a perfect seal? ** After replacing the carb I was able to get the engine to turn over and run. I had to adjust the idle to be quite high or the engine violently surges. When the throttle is turned all the way up, the mower runs okay, but I can tell its not full power. It almost stalls when the blades are engaged.

Here's the weird part: The choke is quite linear, I have about an inch of movement. If I nudge the choke up into the sweet spot, the engine comes to life and revs up quite a bit, to the point where It may be too high. I have seen a good amount of white smoke come out when I am running it at the high RPM with the slight amount of choke. Why does applying slight choke make the engine rev up? When choke is applied, it ignores the throttle and always revs high. Lowest throttle, add a little choke, full revs.