Missing oil ring????

Johnny Reb

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all. Newbie here. Has anyone ever run into a Kawasaki FR691V that was torn down for high oil consumption and found it to be missing one of the oil ring rails??? I bought this machine used from a very disgruntled Gravely customer. He states that he used the machine less than two years before it began consuming two quarts of oil to cut his yard, not very large yard either! He stated that the dealer refused to do warranty work on the machine, despite his keeping up regular scheduled maintenance at the dealership. I bought it cheap. It has an awesome amount of power, but he was right it drinks oil and lays down a smoke screen. Upon tearing down the engine I saw no rounded off bolts or other signs of previous repair attempts. What I did find was one of the oil ring rails completely missing??? Could this be a factory goof? The other ring end gap was nearly ,250 inch. Yes it has eaten much dust as these machines do because of the cheap air filtration system they have. Bore , cam, and crank are just within spec and valves check out great. I'll ring it and see what happens. Just curious if anyone else has seen this?

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Yes,
You got a Monday morning special.
IF and only if the previous owner has a paper trail ( emails will do ) with the dealer then you have a small chance of a warranty repair.
At best it would be free parts .
Down here they have a 3 year warranty on them and Kawasaki while being hard is also fair with warranty claims.

IF there is no hard copy then no dice.
The filtering system is fine unless you are using a bagger .
I have several of them in my service run and the two that had excessive wear both bagged and both had not installed the air filter properly.
Most shove the elbow down too far and the filter too deep into the elbow then over tighten the thumb screws.