Let's Talk About ATV Lawn Mower

Bange

Threads
I have seen many implements for an ATV... some creative and some ready by the industry.
As an advantage I see two important points (in my case)...
The first is the low maintenance cost (many parts come from motorcycles) and a second use inside the farm is mobility with more safety and speed.
As a disadvantage I see the higher fuel consumption, especially with a second engine exclusively for cutting... there is also the issue of collecting leaves and excess grass.
What do you think?

Attachments

• ATV  4.jpg
    ATV 4.jpg
    301.7 KB · Views: 5
  • ATV 3.jpg
    ATV 3.jpg
    178.8 KB · Views: 5
  • ATV 2.jpg
    ATV 2.jpg
    522 KB · Views: 5
  • ATV 1.jpg
    ATV 1.jpg
    14.6 KB · Views: 6

Bange

Threads
Oops!
CraigH, do you have one and use it as a lawn mower, or did you just find it interesting?
I'm still studying the use of an ATV...say something.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Note In order to do this you must be use a water cooled ATV. Air cooled will not survive being drove slow for extended periods under heavy loads. Even water cooled ones needs extra cooling fans.

Bange

Threads
Here we don't have any air-cooled ones and the powers are varied for work and even ready for competitions on muddy trails, big obstacles, big slopes... I think that cooling is not a big problem to use it as a lawn mower .

CraigH

Threads
I'm curious about these as I have an atv plus a ride on mower, both take up much needed space and I've looked at the tow behind mowers before, but the price puts me off them as they're more than a ride on (second hand). Plus our garden isn't quite big enough to warrant a tow behind, though it would be nice to only have the atv to look after rather than the mower too.
I have also thought about making a leaf/grass collector for the mower/atv myself as we don't have a bagger for the mower, not got round to it yet but it's a plan for a rainy day.

Bange

Threads