John Deere L118 jerks, clicking noise (with Video)

robmorren2

Forum Newbie
Threads
Looking for some help, I'm a John Deere newbie. I started dabbling with a complete rebuild of a mower deck, and a rocker gasket and head gasket replacement -- so that's how inexperienced I am.

Here is the problem I'm having right now with my L118. The lawn tractor jerks momentarily, slows down then takes off like something catches, and you can hear a clicking/popping noise while it happens. It happens much more regularly when turning tight circles. It will happen from time to time in a straight line as well, but it seems to smooth out more when going straight and will get up to speed like it normally would. Forward and reverse both work. In this video, I am going in a tight circle, as if I was rounding the base of a tree ...

Thanks in advance for your help!

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Things that cause this
Burned belt
Belt missing chunks
Broken clutch spring
Frozen idler pulley
Collapsed idler pulley bearing
Belt off rear pulley

All of these need the deck to be removed and your eyes under there

robmorren2

Forum Newbie
Threads
So I started tearing stuff off and I noticed something. I'm a rookie at this stuff and I noticed a rookie mistake I apparently made when changing the transmission belt...

Despite pulling the steering wheel shaft to put the belt around it, somehow the belt must have double over on one side when I slid the shaft back into place. So I had both sides of the belt on one side of the shaft, not circling around each side. I pulled the shaft up and guided the belt properly -- started it up, and it still has the same issue as before. I checked the pulley and shaft, and the splines looks good there. The fan looks fine.