Hydraulic oil question

n2qlt

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello, I am new here. I have a Dixie Chopper that I've been running for about 25 years. Last fall, a pump line cracked and blew out. Lots of oil. I replaced all of the lines and re-filled the system with diesel engine oil. It took a lot of oil. In fact, I ran out and wound up adding a couple of quarts of 5w 40 I think. That is all I had on hand. It was the last day of weather for chopping leaves here, and I was running out of daylight. It worked fine. So my question is, do I need to drain the system and fill with the recommended oil? Or is it not critical to this pump? Thanks for any suggestions.

Born2Mow

Threads
Welcome !

Are you looking for someone on the interwebs, whom you never met and don't know, to give you permission to run non-approved lubricant and hope that everything works out great ?? That sounds like a recipe for disaster.

Sorry. I will not be that person.

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
Yup, download the manual or call Dixie. Get the proper fluid. If it was 15w-40, that's awful thick for hydro fluid.

slomo

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Yup, download the manual or call Dixie. Get the proper fluid. If it was 15w-40, that's awful thick for hydro fluid.

slomo
Where have you been. Hydro Gear uses 20W50 conventional motor oil in their hydrostatics and Tuff Torq uses 15W-50 Synthetic in their hydrostatics. Even Hustler Super Z uses 10w40 in their hydrostatic system.

Dixie Chopper uses high-grade 10W50, 15W40, 15W50, or 20W50 per the owners manual.

slomo

Lawn Addict
Threads
Where have you been. Hydro Gear uses 20W50 conventional motor oil in their hydrostatics and Tuff Torq uses 15W-50 Synthetic in their hydrostatics. Even Hustler Super Z uses 10w40 in their hydrostatic system.

Dixie Chopper uses high-grade 10W50, 15W40, 15W50, or 20W50 per the owners manual.