Husqvarna EZ4824 No start

Lyd

Threads
Good Evening, I am a newbie to electrical diagnostics so please bear with me. This mower has 12.6V on battery. I have continutity checked the ign switch, brake switch, left and right lever switches, and seat switch. The starter solenoid is confusing to me. I have hot from batter ok. There is a tiny glow from center prong from the checker when I apply power to the solenoid. Should there be more than a tiny glow? The solenoid does click on an off. The only grounds I can find seem to be going to the engine surround.

I have the schmatic from the owners manual but that is so vague. Neither battery or the starter are shown. Sorry for being an ignoramus, but I am trying desperately not to spend 500.00 to send it off to be fixed. They charge 100.00 to pick up unit even though the shop is 1.9 miles away. Thank you to all who have the patience to help.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
check for power either on the solenoid post the cable from the starter hooks to, or at the starter when the key is in the Start position.
The solenoid is a heavy duty switch, when you turn the key, voltage is applied to the small trigger wire that plugs to the solenoid usually with a blade connector, sometimes a nut holds it on, that causes the switch to contract inside the solenoid and make a connection so the voltage from the battery can power the 2nd cable that leads to the starter. On most mowers there are 2 small wires on the solenoid, 1 is the trigger wire the other wire is from the safety switches.
Do you have a digital multimeter or are you using a Test light?

Lyd

Threads