Honda HRN 216 Not Warranty?

Keithf1113

Forum Newbie
Threads
Has anyone had to deal with Honda? I am in argument with them about my HRN 216 that blew up. I have owned it a little less than 2 years. Long Story Short is I took it to the dealer, they diagnosed it as a rod bolt coming loose. Honda asked them for pictures and they said the failure of the Engine is due to lack of lubrication. I am a Mechanic at an Acura Dealership so I have worked for Honda for the past 11 years and they said the best they can do for my loyalty is $200 off a new mower. These are the pictures That were sent to themCEC95CE9-4316-4214-B2BE-AE4E296ACBEB.jpeg649138C2-8F67-4DB2-85C4-D7221AF3D485.jpegA0EE2196-807F-4A60-A3EB-CCB70DB5EA0B.jpeg6A90B166-7C78-43E4-B523-1C564AEEDFDD.jpeg

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
If you still have the engine write up a warranty repair diagnosis as you would for a car engine
Make note of the absence of aluminium build up on the journal and the absence of any discolourization which would be associated with the heat generated by running the engine dry.
Remember Honda make their determination based upon what the dealer submitted to them .
If you have company letterhead then do it on that
Include in your report that you believe the dealer has made errors as the broken bolt can clearly be seen. still done up
Lots of photos would also help

I have done second opinions for customers where the dealer has pretended to be on their side but was just angeling for another sale or totally incompetant .
The fact I am a metallurgist probebly helped but in every case the company sent their rep around & concurred with my diagnosis .

Keithf1113

Forum Newbie
Threads
If you still have the engine write up a warranty repair diagnosis as you would for a car engine
Make note of the absence of aluminium build up on the journal and the absence of any discolourization which would be associated with the heat generated by running the engine dry.