Honda GCV190 Only Runs With Choke On

djtech2k

Forum Newbie
Threads
I bought a Ryobi pressure washer not long ago with the Honda GCV190 engine. Apparently some very bad gas was put into my pressure washer when I took it out of the box new. I did not know it until I tried to use it the next day and it would essentially not start/run. After some testing, I figured out that the gas was bad. I am not a mechanical kind of guy, but I took off the carb and cleaned it as best as I could. I did research and ended up taking it off about 3x and putting it back on with different cleaning attempts. It would never run without the choke being on.

So I went ahead and bought a brand new carb from Honda for it. I put in the new carb. It starts immediately with the choke on. When I turn the choke off, it sputters very heavy and shuts off. I am running 100% pure gas with no ethanol now. With choke on, it pretty much purrs. When choke goes off, it dies, sometimes within seconds.

So based on reading online, the default answer seems to be a plugged jet in the carb. Well this is a brand new carb so I don't think that can be it now. My only guess is the gaskets. I did not put new gaskets on with the new carb because the original ones looked fine to me. I suppose I could have not installed the gaskets correctly, but it looks right from what I have looked up.

I am sick of taking this carb off and putting it back on because its a big pain. Any ideas?

djtech2k

Forum Newbie
Threads
Well, I decided to take one last crack at this thing. I removed the carb again. I watched a video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kILLqpt7h4o) to make sure of the gasket placement was right and I used my brand new gaskets. All back together.

I got the same or worse result. It runs with choke, but as soon as I take off choke, it shuts right off. Before it would sputter a little before it shutoff, but not now. It goes off.