Help for a first time Simplicity owner

Jcegerton

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi everyone,

I’m wondering if you guys can give me some advice, as this is my first time owning a lawn tractor.

I’ve purchased a Simplicity Baron 18hp, which i believe is an export model (I’m in the uk).

My question is around driving the tractor with the mowing deck disengaged (pulled up with the side lever).

I find that when I have the mower deck in its lowest position and I pull the disengagement lever, the deck rises slightly and the rollers raise off the ground. The problem is that the deck wobbles and moves and is generally not thy secure. I’m worried about banging it.

If I have the deck in it’s highest position and disengage, then the deck ‘locks’ nicely at a good height and doesn’t move. The problem is that the rollers are on the floor.

Is this how it should work? Ideally I would want everything ‘up’ and nice and tight so I can cruise around the yard pulling a trailer.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
John

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Please provide us with the model numbers from the tractor and deck

Jcegerton

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi there,

the model number on my mower says 1694102.

putting that into the simplicity EU site comes back with manuals and parts guides.

thanks!

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Now that I can see which deck you have I don’t think there is any wrong. You have a floating deck, so when ever it is not in the top position, it should move around. As long as you have it in the highest position you should have no problems.

Jcegerton

Forum Newbie
Threads
Thanks Rivets,

the way it works right now is that, if the deck is in its highest position and I pull the handle to pull the deck up, the handle is really slack and nothing really happens. If I try to drive like this the handle just jumps out.