Had 1/2000 year drought, lost a lot of Kikuyu lawn, winter, what to do?

OnTheGrass

Threads
  • / Had 1/2000 year drought, lost a lot of Kikuyu lawn, winter, what to do?
Hi all.

Im fairly new to all this lawn stuff but Im fast becoming addicted (has anyone else found this to be like a hobby/fun?)

I have a 6hp John Deer self propelled. single blade and 72l catcher, all in as new condition.

So, in my country it gets to about 32 deg Celcius (~90f) in summer, so not overly hot. However we had an incredible drought with 3 months of no rain. I also have a big native tree (gorgeous Metrosideros excelsa). And I have gardens surrounding the back yard lawn, the front of house faces the ocean, so that is also another factor. The lawn turned to rock with 2 inch cracks and recession from the concrete etc it was that bad. Now its winter it has grown back some, but I have a lot of weeds and still bald patches in the areas that lost all grass and dirt turned rock hard.

So what should I be doing now its raining again in winter, about 18 during the day, 10deg at night, so a mild climate all year round.

I thought I could just put a fork into the bald patches and over turn them to brake it up, then spray the weeds, wait for them to die back, then over seed the entire lawn with a a yates Kikuyu mix, give it some rain then put a fast release fertiliser onto it?

Given the grass has gotten too long, how short should I cut it now, to try and get the root height down etc?

I cant find a dethatching rake here, so I plan to just wait for summer and spray some D-Thatcher into the lawn.

The grass is a beautiful deep green colour, so hopefully I can get the entire lawn back to this colour and have it adding value to my home?

Thanks for any tips about the above.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
too cold for Kikuyu this time of year to do much growing
So hit the weeds with Round Up etc then water in fetrilizer & seaweed onto the kikuyu, up to the edge of the bare / poisioned patch.