Grasshopper 616 Won't Crank HELP!!

foamer01

Threads
First please understand I am not a mechanic, however I can take direction and welcome your thoughts and advice. My local shops around are 2-4 weeks out and I need to keep blowing snow. So here goes. I have a 2006 grasshopper 616 B&S V Twin w/400 hours. So here is what happened, same routine every time. I finished blowing snow, all went well, motor running fine, backed up to garage to brush excess snow off machine, throttled down to low rpm and it quit. This never happens. I tried to restart and it will not turn over. Battery tested good (replaced two months ago), 12 volt to the switch (when I turn the key I can hear one click relay?), PTO Electric clutch will engage. Went to starter crossed posts and it turns over just fine. Weird though when doing this with the key on and going direct to the starter engine would not start. All fuses tested good. Not sure if any of this makes sense. Why did the motor shut off? If anyone has any ideas, please advise.

Thanks!!

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Hopefully the faint click will be the fuel solenoid so get some one to turn the key while you hold the little cylinder thing on the bottom of the carburettor you should feel it tripping every time the key is turned on & off.
If the plugs are really wet they will not work so get some new ones,
Check you are getting a good spark when the engine is cranked
Only 2 things make an engine stop dead is the spark stopping or that solenoid shuts down ,

foamer01

Threads
BertsMobile1,

Thanks for your reply. I will try these tomorrow.

One question on your last remark "Only 2 things make an engine stop dead is the spark stopping or that solenoid shuts down."

Will either of these cause the starter not to crank at all? Just to be clear the starter will not crank or turn over at all. I will report back tomorrow.

Thanks!

Last edited:

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
NO