Governor or Rev Limiter

Jackson Ellis

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello, I have a Kohler command CH23 V twin that I have removed from its original golf cart and am putting onto a home built go kart. The engine has had machine work done and I have cleaned it up and it is now ready to go back together after sitting for quite a few years. I am ditching the stock carburetor and governor/throttle linkage as it came to me in pieces and finding a new one puts me around 400$ which was too much for me so I opted for a motorcycle carburetor to match the CC's and welded up my own intake. With keeping the stock internals I need a way to keep the RPM's below 4000 as I no longer am using the stock linkage. The two ideas I have in mind are to either manually control the governor with a separate linkage or remove the governor completely when putting the engine back together and instead splice a rev limiter into the magnetos. I have never done either of these before and I'm seeking advice on the better choice as well as what would be easier for me to accomplish. If someone could add their thoughts and help me find a solution to this problem I would greatly appreciate it. Please and Thank you.

Scrubcadet10

Staff member
Threads
I would get a tachometer and not go over 4000.
Or use the tach to figure out where the carb throttle is when it's max and make a stopper the throttle hits against .

cpurvis

Lawn Addict
Threads
I would get a tachometer and not go over 4000.
Or use the tach to figure out where the carb throttle is when it's max and make a stopper the throttle hits against .
Disconnect the governor linkage and connect your throttle cable directly to the throttle shaft. Now you're the governor.

I don't think a throttle stop will work because you'd want the throttle to open completely at rpm's below 4,000 rpm. Some kind of rev limiter set to 4,000 rpm would be nice but not necessary.

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads