Getting an older Bad Boy ZT back in service

Willy McCoy

Forum Newbie
Threads
I recently was given a 2011 ZT 60" that has been sitting under a shed for the past few years. I was told it was parked because it needed a new engine (27hp Kohler) and it was a lot bigger mower than they needed anyway. I'm a retired mechanic so working on a mower is almost natural to me. I've got it back running with new oil, filters and fuel lines. Other than the starter being noisy as heck, the engine seems fine so far (it had too much oil (very dirty) in it and a very dirty air filter). The deck needs a new belt and idler pulley (bad bearing) and new blades. The previous owners apparently weren't much on maintenance.

I've still got a couple of things I'm wondering about. As I've never driven a zero turn before, it's a bit of a learning curve, but the left side seems to pull better than the right. I've been just keeping the right lever basically in position and working the left to keep it going straight. I'm wondering if there's an adjustment in there to make both sides pull more alike. I'm planning on changing the drive oil and filters, but the tank under the seat has broken mounts (zip ties holding it in place until the new tank comes in) and I'm figuring on changing the oil when I replace the tank. Any suggestions on getting the drives to work more like a team?

Somewhere in the past the wire to the hour meter came loose with a few feet of wire. I've looked at the wiring diagram in the downloaded manual from Bad Boy and can't find the hour meter on it at all. I thought getting that back to working would be a nice touch although I'll never know how many hours are actually on it.

Thanks in advance for any help

Willy

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
While there is an adjustment in reality they will go out of adjustment again and due to the nature of a zero turn you will never get the same drive from both wheels.