Generator not taking load

Jan1985

Forum Newbie
Joined
Apr 20, 2018
Threads
3
Messages
4
This is a generic question. I have a portable generator that bogs down when a large load is placed on it. I have checked the governor movement and linkage all is fine. Any suggestions generator puts out correct voltage it is a 5500 watt genetic.
 

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Joined
May 6, 2010
Threads
39
Messages
10,425
Is the 5500 watts surge or nominal?
How much of a large load by wattage?
Is the large load 120v or 240v?
Do you have a tachometer and if so how much is the rpm drop under load? and what is the no load rpm?
 

Jan1985

Forum Newbie
Joined
Apr 20, 2018
Threads
3
Messages
4
Is the 5500 watts surge or nominal?
How much of a large load by wattage?
Is the large load 120v or 240v?
Do you have a tachometer and if so how much is the rpm drop under load? and what is the no load rpm?
No sir no surging of engine. The large load is a window air conditioner, which it used to run with no problem. But this is a 3500 watt load. The engine is steady at 3200 rpm, when I place this air conditioner the genset seems to make no effort to increase rpm. I can manually increase throttle and it works. I am hoping it isn't a internal governor fault.
 

ILENGINE

Lawn Royalty
Joined
May 6, 2010
Threads
39
Messages
10,425
Surge in my question doesn't mean the engine is surging. Generators have two ratings. One is for a continuous load like say a toaster. And the surge wattage is for like starting a motor or compressor. Surge load is always higher than running load. So a generator may have a 5500 watt rating which could be the surge rating but is only rated to run 5000 watts continous I am assuming that 3500 watts is a 240 air conditioner correct.

Is that 3200 rpm no load or with the load. If that is no load there should be an adjustment screw or something similar to put more tension on the governor spring to increase engine rpm. No load should be 3700-3750 roughly.
 

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Threads
84
Messages
10,765
Here is another question is the AC a 60HZ or is it a 50hz unit? Currently 3200 rpm is output 53.3hz and if you are in a 60hz area the rpm as IL said need to be 3750 rpm off load which should droop to 3600 rpm under load for a 2 pole alternator.

Just can't assume everyone is operating in an area that uses 60hz as there are places that is using 50hz systems.
 
Top