Craftsman Model #917203811

Bc54

Forum Newbie
Threads
My lawnmower just stopped starting the other day I replaced the battery and it didn’t help so I replaced the Starter Solenoid which also didn’t help . I ordered a new starter waiting for it to come in . The mower just clicks when I try to start it the starter spins but I noticed the starter gear is not retracting unless I manually spin the motor . I’m new to this so looking for any other ideas I could try or If it sounds like a bad starter ?

hlw49

Lawn Addict
Threads
I guess you can keep throwing parts at it and maybe you will find it sooner or later.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
That is how it is supposed to work
1) acan you rotate the engine by hand ?
2) if yes above then remove spark plug & see if the engine spins
3) if yes above then check the valve lash & also check for decompression .

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads

Briggs 33R877-0002-G1

That is how it is supposed to work
1) Can you rotate the engine by hand ?
2) if yes above then remove spark plug & see if the engine spins
3) if yes above then check the valve lash & also check for decompression .
These engines are for valve clearance to get out adjustment causing the ACR (automatic compress release) to become inoperative. They also know for the ACR on the camshaft to fail so this why you must check for the ACR bump at TDC compression on the intake rocker once the clearances are set to spec. IN .003-.005 EX .005-.007

Bc54

Forum Newbie
Threads
Ok this is beyond my skill level so I will have to find a repAir shop. I can spin it freely . Spins normally without spark plug . Without the spark plug I can hear it decompress when I spin the motor. Does this mean camshaft is ok ? Really hoping Valve just need adjusting so I can clear up my yard before snow hits

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
No it just air/fuel mix is escaping from the spark plug hole when the plug is removed.

Bc54

Forum Newbie
Threads