craftsman LT 1000 axle

wvhunter

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a craftsman LT 1000 automatic model 917.272460, it quit pulling. I checked key ways in wheels and they are ok, I jacked it up and pulled the wheels off and the axles turn slowly. the axle on the left slides out while turning, and I can grab it and it will move outward a little bit. is it possible a clip or whatever holds the axle in has come off? i am no mechanic,any help is appreciated. tia

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Yes,
There is not much holding the axle in usually just an E clip or a gear retainer
If one side can spin freely then the other will not drive much at all
The other end generally has a spline which can also strip.

So it is out with he tranny and pull it apart.
They are not very complicated and the hardest bit is cleaning them enough to split the case .
For you the important thing will be to take lots of photos so you can remember where everything went.

On the tranny itself should be some stickers with the makers name, and the model number of the transmission plus a bar code.
IF you can find it and post it people here can pull up service information & parts availibility

mechanic mark

Lawn Pro
Threads

Check drive belt & idler pulleys after removing deck.
https://www.searspartsdirect.com/model/38vv4g4r1g-000529/hydro-gear-314-0510-engine-drivetrain-parts, see snap ring item 12 part #'s 169870/ 583034101 for $23.98.
Hydro Gear Transaxle 166768, GR 314-0510
any hardware store should have your snap ring for .50-$1.
Do not pay this amount for sealant when assembling cases back together.

what type & how much gear oil did put back in unit?

Last edited:

wvhunter

Forum Newbie
Threads
Yes,

They are not very complicated and the hardest bit is cleaning them enough to split the case .
For you the important thing will be to take lots of photos so you can remember where everything went.