Craftsman DYT 4000 Charging systems.

jaybyars

Forum Newbie
Threads
I hope I'm doing this right! This is my first time on a forum. Please bear with me! Someone just gave me a DYT 4000 mower because it wouldnt charge the battery enough to keep the electric PTO engaged so since I'm not a mechanic I went out and bought a new stator simply because I couldn't think of anything else to do! So, here is my problem! The new stator has 2 yellow wires where the old one had a black and red. After much research into Briggs and Stratton charging systems (and trying to figure out why there wasn't a voltage regulator) I looked at the old stator and discovered the diode! Now, both wires are putting out 14 volts so I ordered a voltage reg that had a plug for the 2 yellow wires and the red one to go to the battery. That should be plenty to keep the PTO engaged right? If so, where do I run the red wire to? A terminal on the ignition switch? Direct to the battery? The existing wiring had been altered and damaged. I sure would appreciate any help Y'all can give me!!! Thank you!!

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Usually it would go to an A ( alternator ) terminal on the key switch
Some run it directly to the battery via the starter solenoid .

StarTech

Lawn Royalty
Top Poster Of Month
Threads
Well personally I don't like guessing and just throwing money at the problem can get rather expensive fast. But since I sell electrical and other parts it does make me a lot of money plus I still get the eqipment in for final repairs. I had one customer to spend over $300 for electrical parts just to end bring the mower in for me to find the whole problem was just a bad 0.50 terminal. The customer got to
spend an additional $50 for me to find the real problem.

Please model number of both the mower (from number tag, probably starts with 917.) and model/type number off the engine. This we can actual get a good idea of how the equipment is setup.