Chainsaw leaking chain oil

blaubner

Forum Newbie
Threads
Acquired an 18 inch Craftsman 42cc chainsaw. Fired it up for a few minutes to make sure that it worked, let it warm up, then turned it off and stored it in the case. That was two weeks ago. Today I find the saw sitting in 4-5 ounces of chain/bar oil.

Checked the oil reservoir, still oil in there. I fired it up again. Engages the throttle a few times, let it idle and watched the oil drip from the bottom of the machine. I’ve identified where the oil is coming out in the attached photos.

I’m new to a chainsaw, but this clearly seems wrong. What is the purpose of the screw in the photos? I can push it in, then feel a spring snap it back out. Doesn’t seem to screw. Just spin.

The bottom of the machine has a high/low bar oil indicator, but I have no idea how to read the oil level.

Any and all help is much appreciated.
2F288206-54B8-4FE0-B777-F856F4D65434.jpegC4B27A37-CFC1-4D24-8F56-3C5DBB1DD795.jpeg

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Welcome to the wonderful world of chainsaws.
The oil valve is a simple tapered needle , in for less out for more .
Some have an O ring on them which will flatten so they leak like seive.
Just about all bar oilers leak like a seive I suggest customes pop an old length of towel under the saw to soak it up..
AFAIK no saw has a shut off for the oiler .
The pumps are all fairly primative and will start to leak very early on in there life which is made substantially worse if the owner allows them to run out of oil .
Then there are the connections between the oil tank & pump plus the pump to bar.
Many of these will leak at the joint.
What is important is the oil gets to the bar and lubes the chain after that everything else is an inconvienance .
If you post the model & serial number off the tag members in the trade may be able to pull down the parts break down to see it there is a hose in there than can split.

cpurvis

Lawn Addict
Threads