CH22 Ignition Short? -- Cranks, Won't Start Until Key Released to Run-position

Yardman999

Threads
  • / CH22 Ignition Short? -- Cranks, Won't Start Until Key Released to Run-position
First Post! Tried the Search function, but didn't quickly come up with the answer.

Background: I'm an experienced mechanic (cars, ...), and have had this Yardman 999 since 1998 (MTD, but built by Kwik-Way). Runs/mows great, with maintenance. Has the original Kohler Command CH22 engine in it.

Battery great, fairly recent new coils, doubt the flywheel key is broken. No fuel/air problems. New OEM ignition switch installed (no change).

First start of the day, cranks great but won't fire. Release the key and it (correctly) springs to the run position. Then often "BOOM!" -- backfire through the exhaust. Not a stuck valve.

Quite convinced that the coils are being shorted somehow while cranking (switch in the START position), but then are active when in the RUN. If I crank briefly and let go of the key, a few times, it will barely start then run fine. I'm guessing a short somewhere? :confused:

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
  • / CH22 Ignition Short? -- Cranks, Won't Start Until Key Released to Run-position
We are going to need the full engine number.
If you have one of the SAM type ignitions with a powered ignition timing control then it is most likely not getting power.
I have a fleet of hire cars and they have the same problem, when cranking the voltage to the ignition unit drops to 10V and they won't fire.
The exact same engine with points fires right up while cranking
If this problem has only started happening since you changed the ignition switch, then the problem will be in the switch.
The power to the ignition might be coming from the alternator output which is 0 till the engine fires on some configurations

Otherwise the ignition is self contained and is controlled by grounding the module in which case it has a separate circuit inside the switch,
M + G = off
M + nothing = on