Briggs & Stratton vertical shaft comparability with larger engine sizes

Fabian

Threads
  • / Briggs & Stratton vertical shaft comparability with larger engine sizes
Hello gents

I am from Australia and am looking to call on your collective wisdom to assist in the repair of an 8hp vertical shaft briggs & Stratton engine that punched the connecting rod out the side of the engine case.
What engine sizes (ideally larger) share the same physical mounting hole locations, and overall external physical dimensions.
Ideally i would like to install a larger horsepower engine, so long as it is the same physical size as the 8hp vertical shaft engine, or to repair the 8hp 319cc engine with your suggestion of the general replacement parts that i am likely to need.

I have never needed to know anything about these engines, and even though i'm fairly good with repairing engines, i have never had to repair a Briggs & Stratton, so in that respect, i am a newbie to this.

My email: yldflight@hotmail.com.

Best regards to all those that can give me their advice.
Fabian

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Lets start with the model number information of your current engine. There are other engines that you can use, but we will need to get more information to give you the best options.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
While we all like more horses, all mower engines spin at around the same speed , 3500 rpm so a bigger engine will not make the mower go 1 mm / minute faster.

If you cut long grass or have a very hilly yard then it will be a distinct advantage as the engine will not bog down.

Aside from the existing engine numbers it would be immensely helpful if you told us what it is going into .

A lot of bigger engines will just not fit into smaller mowers.
I am currently having a devil of a job trying to fit 15Hp intek into the space that a 13 Hp Diamond plus went into because the crank is bigger and fouled on the steering gear of the Greenfields Anniversary model.